WARgames

March 21, 2010

Tombs Pt. 2

Filed under: wartalk — Alex @ 7:09 am

Remember how I said I would post again after our second night of pillaging the tombs? Well, our expedition didn’t end until 4 in the morning. Being human, I fell asleep well before our adventures had ended (to the chagrin of my group). Our trip was full of exciting, for me at least, progression… which is as good as loot, right?

We started just over two and a half hours later than we had planned. I was forty minutes late due to a family obligation but the ringer was the fact that we had to farm up about 200 resources. Since I’ve been gone, Mythic has dramatically nerfed resource farming. To be fair, that’s probably a positive fix for the game. However, I don’t like it. I used to be able to farm up all 500 resources in a half hour. Now it took a team of six over an hour for 200. If anyone has quicker methods to this than farming keep guards in contested zones, please leave a comment.

Anyway, after that oh so short setback, we made it into the Tombs. The fifth boss stood defiant from the inside of his tiny ceramic jar (coward). A little too defiant, in fact, for what amounted to be over an hour. It was actually pretty cool to be there when the group “clicked” on the encounter. One attempt we struggled through the first five champs and could only do 22% of the jar’s health, the next we downed the champs in record time with no hiccups and blasted the jar for a record 28%. The rest of the encounter went without mistakes, until the very end. After we killed the jar, in our blissful exuberance, we were caught off guard by the boss and lackey champion spawning again. I just started laughing/screaming in vent. Luckily, the group pulled together and nobody important got cleaved before our tanks lassoed the mobs and we were able to burn them down. Six months in the making, I’ve finally killed that damned fifth boss. Killed him dead… for a Disciple’s glyph. A Disciple which doesn’t exist in our static group. Moooving on.

For the first time since my number one journey into ToVL, I was in new content. It was really exciting. The sixth boss fight went without worry for our group. I got to go all choppa on the pillars and then all choppa (just a lot slower) on the three scorpions. Nothing much to say here, we quickly moved to the seventh.

This is where our trials in the Tombs ended last night. At 3:30 a.m., your coordination is severely lacking. The aura-eating champion-kiting specifics of the seventh boss were like calculus to a toddler (or to me). There’s again not much to say here because we didn’t spend too much time on it. We will be spending the next few days researching the fight and will begin again on Thursday. Hopefully this time we will start on the seventh boss Friday night, leaving the entire weekend to try and clear.

Boy, it’s good to be back.

4 Comments »

  1. Our guild group is at the same place; had a first real try at boss 7 last night. But I was curious about your strategy for boss(es) 6. We’ve gotten them down each time; but it always seems to take a few tries- kill a boss, wipe, and reset. I was wondering if you could describe the strategy you used.

    Comment by Chris — March 21, 2010 @ 8:14 am

    • Sure thing. When stage two started, we wiped on purpose. This skipped stage two altogether and started 3. I should also say that our group makeup is 2 chosens, myself on a choppa, a sorc, shaman, and zealot. I ran over to the left side and shoved down (I believe) two pillars. Our main tank knew the combinations so I just did what Iwas told. I continued via his directions and shoved down the appropriate pillars. We also killed Jahi first. After Jahiwe had to manipulate the pillars some more and then killed Akil. Tumaini was last. Something of note was that it was imperative that our shaman be lightning fast on his cleanses. It’s the debuff that they apply to your tanks that causes them to lose aggro and/or take awful amounts of damage. I’m not sure what else you would need to know, if it’s the combinations, let me know and I’ll get back to you with them. Anything else and feel free to refine the question.

      Comment by Alex@WARgames — March 21, 2010 @ 8:50 am

  2. Thanks, that’s basically what I thought. We don’t have anyone in our guild who’s actually done the whole thing, and have started making a concerted effort to push past boss 3. 4 was easy, 5 we can do eventually, although we seem to get the guard not dropping bug a lot. 6 seems doable, but I think we just need more experience actually doing instead of watching videos and reading posts. We had something working where I (off-tank) kited Tumaini around room while other two were focused down, and then it just becomes a matter of knowing when to cleanse, and how to reset pillars after Jahi goes down.

    Comment by Chris — March 21, 2010 @ 11:11 am

    • We actually tanked all three scorpions right on top of each other near the front stairs, only moving when Tumaini was the final mob. Our main tank said he remembered having to kill Tumaini on the left side. Who knows for sure. As for the guard bug on boss 5, I hear if you pull the Curate on top of the body of the most recently killed Champion it goes away.

      Comment by Alex@WARgames — March 21, 2010 @ 11:38 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

