WARgames

March 7, 2010

The Winds of Change

Filed under: wartalk — Alex @ 6:23 pm

When I stopped playing Warhammer, city sieges were rare.
When I stopped playing Warhammer, Destruction didn’t have an 80.
When I stopped playing Warhammer, I was the best Choppa in the game.

Two of those statements are true. Here’s a hint: I’ve never been the best Choppa in the game. I was trying to make a point, As I type this, I’m sitting in the queue to get into what I believe is the second Order attack on our city today. I’m told by all my friends about how they kill the king with consistency, and one of my Choppa friends is decked out with seven pieces of Sovereign. This is by no means a complaint. It is, however, an observation on how things have changed. The campaign is so much quicker without forts now, and quite frankly I’m just not used to it.

In the early days of WAR, we were trained into thinking that the endgame wasn’t supposed to happen. That, when one side pushed a city, it was supposed to be an epic event. Today though, city sieges are a casual and maybe even too frequent occurrence. The shock value that comes with leaving the game with that old mentality and coming back to a community that has already adapted is something to behold.

I’m left asking the question, “Is it better this way?” Has the endgame lost the glorification that it once had by being put on farm-mode? That’s a pretty easy question, of course it’s lost some of the glamor. Of course, it’s a pretty precarious thing to balance when you have two separate copies of the endgame for two different sides. For practicality’s sake, I understand the changes. However, it’s regrettable that the magnitude is now gone.

So to answer that first question of , “Is it better this way?” I’m left with: we’ll see. If after fixing the big problems they go back to creating content, as Mythic has previously stated, I’ll go with a resounding YES. However, if this is all that we’re left with (which I don’t think will happen), then taking away the gravity of the endgame was a bad move.

Why? We need something to keep our attention. The PvP in this game is not flawless by any stretch of the word, but it is still fantastic. ToVL was a wonderfully creative dungeon as was the LotD. Unfortunately though, as is with any MMO, content is cleared and ages fast. That’s something that made the older city setup so striking. Looking past its flaws, (too much PvE, etc) it did have that wow-factor if at least for a while. That’s something that needs to keep coming back in MMOs. As I’ve said previously, I believe that with the addition of new, quality content, having frequent cities helps the game.

It also helps make me a better Choppa.

2 Comments »

  1. I can’t wait for the day that cities are re-added and Fortresses become the new hotness once again. They’ve said they don’t plan on bringing back Forts with the same function as before, I.E. a giant keep. However, we still run through them on the way to the city. Turn it into a giant RvR PQ with multiple objectives and stages that can be pushed back and forth with a main 1h30m timer, and other smaller timers for each stage…

    Heh, well. I should really post stuff instead of ramble on other peoples blogs… Stupid brain leakage. =D

    Comment by Grimnir — March 7, 2010 @ 6:31 pm

    • I don’t mind at all, Grimnir! That’s some prime information you just posted. I hadn’t read that they planned on putting forts back into the game. I like your idea a lot.

      Comment by Alex@WARgames — March 7, 2010 @ 6:43 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

