WARgames

June 10, 2009

Gentlemen, we can rebuild him. We have the technology.

Filed under: The Old Blog — Alex @ 10:09 am

Better than he was before. Better, stronger, faster.

Becoming a better player in competitive MMO’s isn’t always easy. It takes concerted effort to understand the mechanics of the game beyond that of your stereotypical “casual” player. I strive to do just that when I play. The enjoyment I get out of this game comes from a continuing drive to improve my gameplay and win. Be that improvement from gear, renown ranks, or just improving my actualy play skill. I believe that this area is a distinctly “to each his own” realm (some people discount the idea of “skill” in an MMO entirely). The inspiration for this post comes in the form of a poll. I want to know, out of my viewing audience, what you think about the topic. Do you constantly strive to better your play, or do you just get fun out of this game and don’t care where it leads you?

Edit: So the poll doesn’t quite fit, but it’s understandable!


1 Comment »

  1. I tend to experiment with all different kinds of play styles, tactics, mastery trees. Even between different classes. I try a little bit of everything to figure out what specs are better than others, how they’re different, which FEELS more rewarding.

    That’s really the trick right that, how effective you are. You can pile up loads of damage in a sc, and get 0 deathblows because someone else steals the kills, OR get 0 deathblows because you’ve been pounding on a guarded/healed target for 5 minutes.

    Try playing a debuff oriented class. You get NO numbers to run by, and you really need to feel out whether or not the tide of battle has been changed by your actions, even if only somewhat. Archmage makes for a great class to do this as I can debuff primarily, and do 30k/30k with a couple deathblows, and still feel good about my performance.

    Very tricky.

    More relative to the question, I don’t play to min/max. I’d rather test out a new spec and make it work, than rely on the one spec I know works well.

    Comment by Grimnir — June 10, 2009 @ 1:30 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

